Book Giveaway – Moral Choices by Scott Rae

I used Scott Rae’s book Moral Choices in two different ethics classes in seminary and benefitted from it a great deal.  It’s now in it’s third edition, and thanks to the generous folks at Zondervan (@Zondervan on Twitter, Facebook here), I’m giving away a copy at Cloud of Witnesses.

As the subtitle says, the book is an introduction to (Christian) ethics.  In the first four chapters, Rae lays out some theoretical groundwork by pointing to various elements of a Christian approach to ethics, and then surveys various ethical systems such as utilitarianism, deontological approaches, and virtue ethics.  Chapter 4 provides a general framework for making ethical decisions.

Chapters 5 through 12 take up a variety of ethical issues and treat them from a Christian viewpoint.  These timely topics include abortion, cloning, euthanasia, sexual ethics, war, and economics.  Each chapter includes review questions, case studies for discussion, suggestions for further reading, and helpful sidebars.

If you’re looking for a concise but comprehensive survey of Christian ethics from an evangelical perspective, Moral Choices is one of the best in print in my opinion.

Giveaway Details:

To enter the giveaway, comment on this post and tell me the best book you’ve read recently.  (Please include your email address in the comment form so I can contact you if you win.)  Also, please share this post on the social media site of your choice (Facebook, Twitter, etc.).  I’ll announce the winner this weekend.

image

Enhanced by Zemanta

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

40 thoughts on “Book Giveaway – Moral Choices by Scott Rae

  1. The best book I’ve read recently is ‘A Shattered Visage: The Real Face Of Atheism’ by Ravi Zacharias. Quite insightful. A must read for every intellectually inclined person.

  2. Pingback: Winner of “Moral Choices” Giveaway « Cloud of Witnesses

  3. Pingback: Book Giveaway : Moral Choices | Trinitarian Dance

  4. The best book I have read lately is Tolstoy’s “The Kingdom of God is Within You” craig.benno@live.com.au

    I was challenged by his observation that the church is more likely to preach on the evils of fornication and yet would rarely if ever preach about the sermon on the mount and Jesus command about not resisting evil.

  5. Pingback: Week in Review: 12.11.2010 « Near Emmaus

  6. Just finished a great classic book on God, “The Knowledge of the Holy.” by A.W. Tozer. Starting a new classic, “A World Of Difference” by Kenneth Samples. I recommend both highly.

  7. The best book I read recently that engages a number of ethical subjects, as well as common objections to the Christian faith, is Dr. Bill Craig’s Hard Questions.

    The book wonderfully lays out strategies for approaching those difficult moral and ethical questions in terms of sexual behavior, for example, or abortion. What I like most about the book is that it not only provides solid biblical and logical support for the Christian position on such matters, but argues for a Christ-like attitude that should drive our responses; an attitude that fosters respect, providing answers that are conveyed lovingly and respectfully, in accord with 1 Peter 3:15.

  8. Best book I (am) read(ing) is Introduction to Philosophy: A Christian Perspective by Norm Geisler (aka The Geis!). Great insight and overview by my favorite apologist!

  9. Defending Your Faith: An Introduction to Apologetics by R.C. Sproul is the latest book I’ve read and it’s actually a really good book. I bought it thinking that I probably wouldn’t learn anything fantastically new, but I was surprised by the book. Sproul’s focus in the book is more on methodology than on giving you piece by piece arguments. Plus, it has his winsome touch. It’s a good book.

  10. I finished Putting the Amazing back in Grace by Horton recently which I recommend to anyone who hasn’t read it yet. The book I am reading now which is awesome is Holiness by J.C Ryle, I would have chosen that as my book to plug over Horton’s book by I am not actually finished it yet.

  11. Thanks for offering this giveaway. I posted it on the Christian Book FB page as well.

    The best book I’ve read recently was “The Quotable Oswald Chambers” – just love the mind of that guy.

  12. The best book I have read recently is Voddie Baucham Jr.’s “Family Driven Faith.” A great book on not only family worship, but a different view on leading one’s family. A must read.

  13. Best book I’ve read lately, I’m assuming you mean on Christian theology or other faith based topics. :-)

    I would have to say “The Naked Anabaptist” by Stuart Murray. Why? Well, I am an Anabaptist in my faith background and so I was curious to read about someone else’s view of my particular tradition. That, and I have an intense interest these days to get back to what Anabaptism tradition started out as in the 1500’s and looking at those churches of the Anabaptist tradition and working on rediscovering our roots.

  14. Best finished is Flame of Love (theology of the Holy Spirit) by Clark Pinnock and I am currently about 2/3 through Christianity: The first 3000 years. A good single volume overview of Christian history (and 1000 years of pre-Christian history). Not an evangelical perspective, but a very good historical one. And one that is very good at trying to get the whole of Christian history, not just western history.

  15. “Surprised by Grace” by Tullian Tchividjian…great gospel-saturated book, and a helpful guide to seeing the gospel clearly presented in a “storied” way in the OT.

  16. Unfortunately I haven’t had the pleasure to read as much as I would like to recently but so far, I would say that “Reason for the Hope Within” is a great summarized defense of Christian theism by various respectable philosophers. While it is aimed at layman, I found that it was not dumbed down enough that it was a breeze to read but it was in-depth enough that it gave me something to think about. I just love the dualism between simplicity and complexity… that’s what got me into philosophy!

  17. The best book I have recently read is a Reason for the hope within by Michael J. Murray. Bill Craig recommended it in one interview so the expectations were high and I can tell I really found it helpful and a book worth of recommendations!

  18. I’m finishing up This Momentary Marriage by John Piper. It’s a wonderful book emphasizing marriage as the display of the Gods covenant-keeping relationship with His church.

  19. The best book I’ve read lately was “The Coming Oil Storm” by Ron Rhodes
    Very Good book about the signs pointing to this being the end times.

  20. The best book I’ve recently read is Saving Leonardo by Nancy Pearcey. It is an in depth examination of contemporary secularism. The section on how secular worldviews impact the arts is brilliant. I highly recommend it.

  21. Pingback: Tweets that mention Book Giveaway – Moral Choices by Scott Rae « Cloud of Witnesses -- Topsy.com

  22. The best book I read recently would have to be Russ Shafer-Landau’s Whatever Happened to Good and Evil? It’s a robust defense of moral realism, but ironically from an atheist.

Leave a Reply

