EPS Interview with Biola Prof. Gregg Ten Elshof on Self Deception

Fascinating interview at the EPS blog with Biola professor of philosophy Gregg Ten Elshof on his recent book I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life (Eerdmans, 2009).

We are pleased to have interviewed Gregg Ten Elshof about his latest book, I Told Me So: Self-Deception and the Christian Life (Eerdmans, 2009). Gregg is a professor of philosophy and the department chairperson of the undergraduate philosophy program at Biola University. He has also been a contributor to Philosophia Christi. Below is part one of a two part interview with Gregg.

How did this book come about for you?
I first took up an interest in self-deception as a graduate student at USC in the 90’s. I was just beginning to modify my approach to the Way of Jesus in response to the reading I had been doing about spiritual formation (from Dallas Willard, Richard Foster, etc.). I began to suspect that I had fallen prey to self-deception in significant ways and that my Christian brothers and sisters had too. But I found precious little in the contemporary literature on the Christian life that focused on self-deception. I devoted my doctoral research to defending a model of self-knowledge which made sense of self-deception with an eye toward writing this book at some point. In the ten years or so since, I’ve been reading and teaching courses about self-knowledge and self-deception. Finally, last year, I felt like I had enough to say to warrant the writing of a book. (continue)

3 thoughts on “EPS Interview with Biola Prof. Gregg Ten Elshof on Self Deception

  1. Thanks so much! I just finished this today and will be reviewing in the next week or so on my blog. It’s a tremendously important read!

  2. Hi Paul,
    Thanks for letting me know about that. I’ve fixed the link, so it should take you to Part One of the interview.
    Blessings,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

