Miss Calif. Says Traditional Marriage Answer ‘Cost Me My Crown’

I admire Carrie Prejean, Miss California, for sticking to her guns.

As the Christian Post reports:

Miss California Carrie Prejean, who was named first runner up in the Miss USA Pageant on Sunday, says she believes her answer on same-sex marriage cost her the title but admits that she has no regrets.

During the Las Vegas pageant, Perez Hilton, an openly gay gossip blogger, asked Prejean whether every state should follow Vermont’s recent move to legalize same-sex marriage.

“Well, I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other,” responded Prejean. “We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage.”

“And you know what, in my country, in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman,” she continued. “No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think it should be between a man and a woman. Thank you very much.”

On Monday, Prejean spoke about the gay marriage question to entertainment host Billy Bush, co-host of the NBC ceremony.

“It did cost me my crown,” Carrie told Bush on his radio talk show. “I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I said what I feel. I stated an opinion that was true to myself and that’s all I can do.”

“It is a very touchy subject and he is a homosexual and I see where he was coming from and I see the audience would’ve wanted me to be more politically correct,” she added. “But I was raised in a way that you can never compromise your beliefs and your opinions for anything.”

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “Miss Calif. Says Traditional Marriage Answer ‘Cost Me My Crown’

  1. Hello America! This is the United States of America! In the U.S. we were born of mothers and fathers! NOT mothers & mothers, or father and fathers! We were born of mothers and fathers! Period…..What part of that do you NOT UNDERSTAND???? Miss Carrie was being kind in trying to give you who do not undrstand this a break! And, she was trying to tell all of you that this is the CORRECT way of life and hopefully you get the message. Hats off to her!!!!

  2. I am so proud of Miss Prejean! Praise the Lord! It is a wonder how liberals are open-minded about everything except people having their own opinions. I am so thankful I am saved by the Blood of Jesus and full of the Holy Ghost and have the freedom to make up my own mind without fear of death like in some countries…

Leave a Reply

